Whenever anyone writes a sermon, almost invariable there is some sections, some points, and some paragraphs, that you just don’t know how to write it..

            This is where I’m at tonight. I’m referencing in my sermon I Corinthians 15:3-8. Since Paul references “gospel” a number of times in the the text I’m preaching on, I decided to go to the verse where Paul succinctly writes the foundation of the Christian faith- the Gospel, the Good news.

I Corinthians 15:3-8

3 For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, 4 that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures, 5 and that he appeared to Peter, and then to the Twelve. 6 After that, he appeared to more than five hundred of the brothers at the same time, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep. 7 Then he appeared to James, then to all the apostles, 8 and last of all he appeared to me also, as to one abnormally born.

And here comes the writers block- the good news- what’s so good about it?

           As a Christian,  I can start to list a long laundry list of “good things” that come from the Gospel. I can be mechanical about it- the Gospel is foundationally the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus of Nazareth- who is the Christ. Or, as I’m going to look at in my sermon “Christ died for our sins“.

            Yet the implications of this are mind boggling. It’s easy to through out things like- “by this we have salvation!” ,“because of this we can have eternal life” ,“this is the Love of God” “because of this I’m no longer condemned”, “by this we have forgiveness of sins”, “by this, the barrier between God and man has been tore down” or “because of this we can have a personal relationship with God!”

            True, True, True, True, True, True, and True….and insert your orthodox statement and I’ll say “True”. But for the majority of people, in just hearing this, they may say “o that sounds like a nice thing” or “o, well could be kinda cool”, or how about “well that’s….neat???”. But no, this is the “good news” not “nice news” or “kinda cool news” or even “neat….news???”.

            Here’s a hint- for so many Christian- even for me on a lot of days it because the “true but not really sure what it means news”. This then becomes “what does this mean for me news” and  the “it’s true, and I believe it but I don’t really see the implications news” and finally, once they realize that there has got to be something to this good news, it’s the “what does this look like news”. Is this merely a cognitive understanding of your position in relation to God? Well it is that- but it’s so much more! But how do I communicate that in a way that actually makes a person say “OOOO, so THAT’S why it’s call good!”

            I’m a firm believer that a majority of people who hear the Gospel message, while hearing it, rarely truely hear it. They hear words, but they never get what’s the big deal about it- it’s seems “nice”- but never “good”. And that is the Churches fault- and as a speaker, my responsibility.

            So I’m back to that original nagging question- The good news- what’s so good about it?

Writers block…of the most frustrating kind.

